Notice: jetpack_enable_opengraph is deprecated since version 2.0.3! Use jetpack_enable_open_graph instead. in /home/spynews/public_html/ on line 4329

Akatsi South MP Awards 14 former Students of AKAST

986 total views, 5 views today

The Member of Parliament for the Akatsi South constituency, Bernard Ahiafor, has presented cash awards to 14 deserving former students of the Akatsi Senior High Secondary Technical School (AKAST) who excelled in their external examinations in 2016 and 2017 respectively. The amount is to the tune of over GHc20,000.00.

He also honoured two Teachers with citations and flat screen TV sets for emerging as best departmental Teachers as determined by the Governing Board of AKAST which is chaired by the former Volta Regional Director of Education, Emmanuel Keteku.

The breakdown of awards are: overall best student of the year, the most disciplined student of the year and Department best student for the years under review.

The Akatsi Senior High Secondary Technical School Awards instituted by the MP for Area in 2014 aims at creating and promoting competition in the areas of teaching, learning and discipline

“Which would allow our dear students to grow up to be responsible citizens and to contribute meaningfully to the society,” he stated.

Addressing the Students, Teachers, Parents and Traditional rulers at the 2016/17 combined Awards ceremony at AKAST Campus on September 27, 2018, Lawyer Ahiaffor said education provides learners with capabilities essential to become economically productive for sustainable livelihoods and to contribute to peaceful, democratic societies and enhance individual well-being. H added that, “it is undisputable fact that largely education is provided by teachers. Teachers are great contributors in achieving excellence in our nation building.

According to him, “the responsibility of a teacher in the economic and social transformation of students to become useful in the moral fabric of society cannot however, be overemphasised. A teacher is like a light which shows the right path to people in darkness. Students must also submit themselves to learn and be disciplined. That is the very essence of being a student”.

The MP maintained that it is an incontestable need to create and promote competition among teachers as well as the students in relation to teaching, learning and discipline in our Schools, “it is for these reasons that the best teacher, the best student and the most discipline male and female student awards are introduced in Akatsi Secondary Technical School to be observed yearly. For undisclosed reasons, today we are having the year 2016 and 2017 together”.

He congratulated the Awards winners on their outstanding achievements and remarkable performance, but advised them “not to be complacent, not to relax and not to think you have conquered the world. And to all those who are here celebrating with our winners and in the competition, I have so much faith in you. I hope you have received inspiration so that next year”.

On his part, The District Director of Education, Yogah Adovor urged The Parents, The Students and The Teachers to hold on to the respective responsibilities at all times. He praised the MP for his exemplary behaviour and called on The Students to emulate him.

Torbgui Ahiamadorwu Godome III, Dufia of Live, on behalf of Torgbui Dorglo Anumah VI, The Paramount Chief of Avenor Traditional Council, expressed his profound gratitude to The MP for instituting The Award Scheme in recognition of academic excellence.

Torgbui described the MP as “indefatigable, benevolent generous and selfless. He is serving us as a role model for all of us to emulate”,

According to him, the Awards is meant to divert the minds of students to desist from social vices like drinking, smoking, gambling and other immoral activities.

Ghana News Online

The primary function of is to gather, process and distribute news about Ghana and Africa to the World. To serve as a News Agency with the mandate to present complete, in-depth objective and impartial information, news, and features rooted in investigative journalism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by

Notice: Undefined index: name in /home/spynews/public_html/ on line 196