Election 2020: NDC breaks One-Term jinx at Asuogyaman?

The one-term parliamentary jinx in the Asuogyaman Constituency of the Eastern Region is likely to be broken with the incumbent Member of Parliament for the area Thomas Ampem Nyarko, who is also the parliamentary candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) likely to retain the seat for the first time.

According to provisional results available to Ghananewsomline.com.gh, the former District Chief Executive for the Asuogyaman District has swept some 24, 448 votes to beat his main contender Pual Asare Ansah of the New Patriotic Party (NDC) managing some 23, 237 votes from the 145 polling stations in the Constituency.

Thomas Ampem Nyarko first won the seat in 2016 after beating the then parliamentary candidate of the NPP Kwame Adu Darkwa with some 51.87 percent.

Asuogyaman as a constituency has recorded some interesting history with regards to the elections of its Parliamentarians. While the NDC keeps winning the presidential slot over the years, the parliamentary keep swinging since 2000. Emmanuel Dwamena Bekoe in 2000 became the MP for the constituency after pulling 14, 905 votes to beat his opponent Dr. Godfred Kofi Siaw of the NPP.

In 2004 however, Emmanuel Dwamena Bekoe of the NDC polled 15,873 votes and was beaten by Kofi Osei-Ameyaw of the NPP, who at the time gathered 17,806 votes representing 51.60 percent.

Read More: Joint Press Statement by STRANEK-Africa, Care Ghana, African Centre for Women in Politics, CSOs against Political Vigilantism on 5th Dec., 2020

Again in 2008, the candidate of the NDC, Joses Asare Akoto secured 16,608 votes representing 51.30 percent to unseat Kofi Osei-Ameyaw of the NPP.

During the 2012 elections, Kofi Osei-Ameyaw managed to gather 20,750 votes representing 51.79 percent to unseat Joses Asare Akoto of the NDC who pulled 18,650 votes representing 46.55 percent.

In 2016, the candidate of the NDC, Thomas Ampem Nyarko secured 20,493 votes representing 51.87 percent to beat his opponent, Kwame Adu Darkwa of the NPP who pulled 18,668 votes representing 47.25 percent.

This year, two candidates contested the parliamentary slot. The incumbent MP, Thomas Ampem Nyarko of the NDC, and Paul Asare Ansah of the NPP. It is however unclear which of the candidates is going to win this year’s elections as at Tuesday morning.

Election 2020: NDC breaks One-Term jinx at Asuogyaman?
Thomas Nyarko Ampem

Residents are keeping their fingers crossed hoping the seat will swing in favour of the NPP or remain with the NDC as they await the final declaration of certified results. Collation is currently underway.

Source: William Dei Gyau

Ghananewsonline.com.gh is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. Read our disclaimer.
Send your news stories to ghnews101@gmail.com and via WhatsApp on +233 24 482 2034.


Ghananewsonline.com.gh is your news, politics, business, sports, entertainment, a lifestyle website. We provide you with the latest breaking news and content straight from the motherland Ghana and other countries beyond.

4 thoughts on “Election 2020: NDC breaks One-Term jinx at Asuogyaman?

Leave a Reply