Ga West MCE inaugurates youth Parliament

The Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for the Ga West Assembly, Clement Wilkinson has, inaugurated a 30-member Parliament in the community to help address inequalities and unemployment among the youth in the area.

This is to enable the youth to also get involved in decision making on national issues and encourage them to exercise their civic responsibilities in the municipality responsibly.

The concept was organized under the leadership of the Municipal Director of National Youth Authority (NYA), Abigail Dom. It was on the theme: “How Can We Encourage Civic Engagement among the Youth Generation in the Municipality”.

The MCE advised the youth to embrace the values of discipline, self-respect and be responsible so the government work with them to achieve sustainable life in future.

He again charged the youth to continuously empower each other through acquisition of knowledge and skills in learning and self-development.

“That’s why the President, Nana Akufo-Addo brought in a lot of initiatives for the youth such as the free SHS, NABCO among others to ensure the youth are not left behind,” he noted.

“We need to state that government will continue to identify, harness and shape the capabilities of its citizens through the provision of an enabling environment,” Clement Wilkinson added.

He further emphasized that the Assembly has given recognition to Parliamentarians as a body that would strengthen policies governing the youth in the municipality adding that “we continue to work together and advance the agenda that would ensure development in the communities”.

The Speaker of the youth parliament, Dennis Adu-Yeboah acknowledged the effort of the government to engage the youth on national issues through the formation of a youth Parliament in the municipality. He hoped this would address the concerns of the youth in the area.

“We would not only debate on civic engagement but will highlight on other areas such as sanitation, sports, education, skills training among others. We hope after several engagements, most of us would be responsible leaders and take decisions for a better future”, he said.

Both the Majority and Minority leaders in the persons of Joseph Commey and Alfred Chris-Wood agreed to work together to put the agenda of the House into better perspective. They again agreed to identify and debate on areas that are of necessity and to enhance the lives of the youth in the communities.

Other Parliamentarians include: Awunyo Kenneth, Alfred Sackey, David Mensah Mawuli, Benjamin Arkorful, Wisdom Awani, Esther Nyasegbe, Yussif Salifu, Hildergrand, Gabriel Opoku, Adanyinah Ernest, Prosper Tengay, Monica Bacta, Afaslo Desmond Yaw, Philip Sarpong, Andrews, Larbi, Gbedzo Precious, Henry Osei-Akoto, Haadi Medjida, Jonathan Tetteh, Emmanuel Aryee, Aremeyaw Haruna, Gbeti Henry, Akli Godwin, Diana Tekyi-Arhin, Abu-Seidu and Norah Kekeli Gbeden.

Source: Eric Nii Sackey || [email protected] com




Disclaimer is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. Read our disclaimer.
Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 24 482 2034.

spyDa is your news, politics, business, sports, entertainment, a lifestyle website. We provide you with the latest breaking news and content straight from the motherland Ghana and other countries beyond.

Leave a Reply