GJA issues voting rules and guidelines among others for Friday’s GJA National Elections

In connection with the Ghana Journalists Association’s, National and Regional elections slated for Friday, June 24, the order of candidates’ placement on the ballot paper is shown below. Also, provided are the election guidelines.


President: Dave Agbenu – Ghanaian Times

President: Gayheart Mensah – KomsKraft Consult

President: Albert Kwabena Dwumfour – Atinka

Vice President: Linda Asante Agyei – GNA – UNOPPOSED

Treasurer: Audrey Dekalu – GNA – UNOPPOSED

General Secretary: Akwasi Agyeman – Multimedia

General Secretary: Kofi Yeboah- Wisconsin Univ.

Public Affairs: Rebecca Ekpe – GBC Public Affairs: Caesar Abagali – GNA

Organizing Secretary: Mary Mensah – Daily Graphic

Organizing Secretary: Dominic Hlordzi – GBC



Chairman: Kingsley Hope – Ghanaian Times – UNOPPOSED Secretary: Georgina Ama Ankumah – GBC – UNOPPOSED BRONG AHAFO

Chairman: Larry Paa Qwesi Moses TV3 – UNOPPOSED Secretary: Dennis Kwadwo Peprah GNA – UNOPPOSED Vice Chairman: Regina Benneh Siaw, GNA – UNOPPOSED


Chairman: David Yarboi-Tetteh – Ghanaian times UNOPPOSED Secretary: Kingsley Nana Buadu – GBC UNOPPOSED

Vice Chairman: Shirley Asiedu-Addo – Daily Graphic – UNOPPOSED


Chairman: Maxwell Kudekor – Multimedia – UNOPPOSED Secretary: Mcanthony Dagyenga – Freelance – UNOPPOSED


Chairman: Charles Benoni Okine – Graphic Communications -UNOPPOSED


Chairman: Yakubu Abdul Majeed- Ghanaian Times UNOPPOSED Secretary: Albert Futukpor – GNA – UNOPPOSED


Chairman: Dzifa Emma Tetteh – Ghanaian Times – UNOPPOSED Vice Chairman: Laudia Nunoo Sawer – …. UNOPPOSED Treasurer: Edith Elikplim Attiaka Eshun – GBC – UNOPPOSED


Chairman: William Nlanjerbor Jalulah – A1 Radio – UNOPPOSED Vice Chairman: Fatima Astanga – GNA – UNOPPOSED Secretary: Albert Sore – JoyNews – UNOPPOSED

ALSO READ  GJA congratulates its Honorary Member Akuffo Dampare as the new IGP

Treasurer: Joshua Asaah – A1 Radio – UNOPPOSED


Chairman: Sualah Abdul-Wahab – GBC UNOPPOSED

Vice Chairman: Seidu Ibrahim Bomanjo – GBC ….UNOPPOSED Secretary: Prosper Kuorsoh – UDS (Formerly of GNA) ….UNOPPOSED


Chairman: Harrison Kofi Belley – Lake News Online Chairman: Emmanuel Agbaxode – GNA

Chairman: Hubert Mawuli Yevu-Agbi – Freelance

Vice Chairman: Kafui Gati – Ghanaian Times (Rtd) – UNOPPOSED

Treasurer: Ivy Setordjie – Multimedia Treasurer: Ewoenam Kpodo -GNA

Secretary: Frederick Duodo – Takyi (Fred Duodu) – Daily Guide Secretary: MacLiberty Misrowoda – Freelance


Chairman: Desmond Cudjoe – GBC – UNOPPOSED

Vice Chair: Kwami Agbeli Mensa -Empire FM UNOPPOSED Secretary: Ewurama Shirley Smith -Connect FM UNOPPOSED Treasurer: Marie Aziz Tunde -GBC UNOPPOSED


(1) The election would be held throughout the country, using the under-listed centres.

i. Greater Accra

a. Graphic Communication Group b. New Times Corporation

c. Ghana News Agency

d. Ghana Broadcasting Corporation e. Press Centre – Accra

f. Tema – GBC Obonu FM

ii. Volta Region:-Ho – GJA Press Centre

iii. Central Region:-Cape Coast: Graphic Office, Ministry Building. iv. Western Region:-Sekondi-Takoradi – GBC Office

v. Bono, Bono East, Ahafo:-Sunyani Regional Electoral Commission Office. vi. Northern Region:-Tamale – GBC Office

vii. Upper West:-Wa- GJA Office

viii. Upper East: Bolga–Electoral Commission Municipal Office

ix. Ashanti Region:-Kumasi – Regional Electoral Commission Office. x) Eastern Region:-Koforidua- Regional Electoral Commission Office.

NB: Oti region will join Volta for voting, similarly, Western north will join Western Region for the same purpose.

(2) The poll will start from 8:00 am to 3:00 pm

ALSO READ  NPG, GJA 3-day training workshop for journalists on Nuclear Energy opens in Accra

(3) Mode of Identification: -Only Ghana Card, Voters I.D Card and National Passport that bears the photograph and name of the Journalist should be accepted as Voter Identification Card. There will be no proxy voting.

(4) Counting, Announcing & Declaration of the Results at the Voting Centre.

a) Ballots would be counted and results announced at each voting centre after 3:00 pm.

b) Each candidate will be represented by one (1) Polling Agent at the voting centre.

c) The Regional Executive Election Results would be declared at the Regional voting centre and results transmitted through the medium stated at point number 5 below.

(5) Transmission of Results:- Results of the National and Regional Executive Elections at the voting centres stated above would be emailed to Electoral Services Department mail ([email protected]) and WhatsApp same to the following numbers.

1. 0246829758 2. 0208115652 3. 0244523861

(6) The National Executive Elections Results from the various voting centres would be collated at the Press Centre, Accra and the final results would be declared.

(7) Voting Offences:-It is an offences to:-

a) Vote or attempt to vote more than once for a particular position. b) Buy or sell vote.

c) Compel somebody to vote in a particular way

d) Obstruct a delegate from freely exercising his or her right to vote.

e) Display your marked ballot paper in such a way as to make it known to others the candidate you are voting for.

f) Take photo of how you voted in any particular way.

For further enquires regarding the counting, announcing and declaration of the results at the voting centres, please, contact: 0246829758

ALSO READ  Akufo-Addo worried over Ghana’s 700 daily COVID infections

Peter Martey Agbeko, APR

Elections Committee, Secretary

Source: AmaGhanaOnline
GOT A STORY? Share with us. Email: [email protected] or [email protected] WhatsApp: +233(0)244822034
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

GOT A STORY? Share with us. Email: [email protected] or [email protected] WhatsApp: +233(0)244822034
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More