Over 6,000 NPP Delegates storm Koforidua for Annual Delegates Conference

All is set for the annual delegates conference of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) slated for the Koforidua Technical University from today (Friday,) July 6 to Sunday, July 8, 2018.

And barring any last minute hitches, the party would in within the next three days go to the poll to elect its national officers to steer affairs of the party for the next four years.

The annual delegates conference is the highest decision making body of the party followed by the National Council and the National Executive Committee (NEC).

In all, over 6,000 delegates are expected in Koforidua for the three -day event.

So far forty-one (41) candidates have been vetted to contest various national positions of the party. All the delegates crisscrossed the length and breadth of the country campaigning for votes of the thounsands of delegates.

The key position to be contested is the national chairmanship slot. And three strong members of the party are competing for the position. They are Mr Freddie Worsemao Armah Blay, the acting National Chairman, and Mr Stephen Ayesu Ntim clearly as front runners. The other candidate, Dr Richard Amoako Baah, who is second on the ballot paper, is also upbeat of winning the position.

However, Mr Blay appears to have an edge over the other two candidates, looking at how he has steered affairs of the party and his track record.

Mr Ntim was recently reported to have stated that “I am going to win and I will work with the President [Akufo-Addo] after winning, whether he will work with me or not, I don’t care, I will work with him. When I win, I will go to him and say Nana, here is the ‘silver cup,’ “I’m coming to work for you, that is what I will do, I’m not going to fight with my president, that is my lifelong political ambition.”

For the Vice Chairmanship slot, Mr Frank Freduah Antoh, Rita Asobayire and Ken Wuud Nuworsu stand tops to win the three positions at stake. Mr John Boadu and Mr Sammy Awuku also have the edge to win the General Secretary and National Organiser positions respectively.

For the General Secretary position, the acting General Secretary, John Boadu, and Richard Ahiagbah will be contesting.

The aspirants for the position of Treasurer are Kwabena Abankwah-Yeboah, Kwabena Oppong Frimpong, Mary Posch-Oduro, Hajia Ruka Ahmed, Abrahim Obeng Amoakohene and Nuhu Bayorbo Mahama.

Sammy Awuku, Tweneboa Kodua Emmanuel and Sulemana A. Sadik Nabicheinga have been cleared for the position of National Organiser.

While for the National Youth Organiser position, Henry Nana Boakye, Kamal-Deen Abdulai, Emmanuel Nana Bediako D. Appiah and Dominic Kwesi Eduah, have been approved.

The National Women’s Organiser aspirants are Kate Gyamefua and Joyce Konokie Zempare.

For the National Nasara Coordinator, those cleared to contest are Abubakari Sulemana, aka Lakulaku, Alhaji Rashid Adam, Ahmed Zaruk Nuhu, Iddrisu Abdulai Dipantiche, Alhaji Shuaibu Musah Sheriff, Baba Gado Ibrahim, Abdul Aziz  Haruna Futa, Dauda Abdul Rahman Duodu, Alhaji Aminu Abu, Sulemana Alhassan Atakpo, Abdul-Rahman Diallo, Kazeem Ibrahim, Salihu Yahaya Bo and Ali Suraj.

Over 6000 delegates will be voting at the Koforidua Technical University Park tomorrow for new national executives to lead the party going into the 2020 elections.

Source: Kofi OWUSU TAWIAH || Todaygh

Writer’s email: kofi.tawiah@todaygh.com

Ghana News Online

The primary function of GhanaNewsOnline.com.gh is to gather, process and distribute news about Ghana and Africa to the World. To serve as a News Agency with the mandate to present complete, in-depth objective and impartial information, news, and features rooted in investigative journalism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hey there!!! click "Send" to begin to chat us

-Team Ghananewsonline.com.gh
Powered by