Tackling Unemployment: MCE inaugurates Youth Parliament for Adentan

Municipal Chief Executive for the Adentan Municipality, Daniel Alexander Nii-Adumoah, has inaugurated a 30-member youth Parliament in area to enable the youth to deliberate on matters of importance for development and to tackle the high rate of youth unemployment in the community.

The concept is an initiative developed by the National Youth Authority (NYA) to engage the youth in the municipality on discussions pertaining to youth unemployment among other matters.

Speaking on the theme: “Youth Unemployment Rate in the Municipality”, the Chief Executive advised the youth to change their mindset towards issues pertaining to life and jobs, rather they should visualize agriculture as a lucrative venture to address the unemployment situation in the area.

He said, most of the youth in this era sees agriculture as job for the uneducated or illiterates which is why they are always seeking white color jobs, stating that, “this should not be the way to go because there must be a paradigm shift to allow for a change in perception.

“There are so many opportunities in the municipality that can create jobs for the youth but they live them behind and go looking for White color jobs. The Assembly is there to offer their support to any youth with a lucrative idea in the agriculture sector or other areas that can enable them earn a living, we need them to come forward,”, he stated.

He therefore urged Members of the Youth Parliament to focus, create a platform and discuss issues that would be profitable and enhance the living conditions of the youth and as well minimize the unemployment situation in the area.

The youth parliament consists of the Speaker, Majority and Minority leaders and they would rule over matters of interest for the benefit of the youth in the municipality.

The Speaker, Batintora Divine, promised to make the newly formed youth Parliament relevant among the youth to tackle the issues.

The leaders of both sides (Majority and Minority), Juliet Adjei and Ephraim Quartey, agreed to work hard to discuss issues that would add value to the lives of the youth, adding that, “the preparation and agenda setting towards this inauguration would help resolve issues affecting unemployment and the youth”.

Other ‘parliamentarians’ include; Eric Tornyo, Joshua  Akpalu, Silas Darko, Nii Adjei,Clifford Adjei, Isaac Oti Okpoti, Ibrahim Lukeman, Bigland Nii Adjei Kotey, Robert Anyetei, Edward Minta, Emmanual Bank, Precious Mannsey, Gloria Dede, Obed Quashie, Roseline Sarpoma, Francis Okoe, Gladys Gyan, Willoughby Nii Darko Quartey, Donald Boateng, Cosmos Sabuli, Vivian Arku, Charles Opare, Hudu Abdulai, Evans Adjei and Vivian Boateng

Source: Eric Nii Sackey || ghananewsonline.com.gh

[email protected] com




GOT A STORY? Share with us. Email: [email protected] or [email protected] WhatsApp: +233(0)244822034

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

GOT A STORY? Share with us. Email: [email protected] or [email protected] WhatsApp: +233(0)244822034
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More