17 Eminent Persons to discuss Policy Priorities for Africa’s post COVID-19 Recovery

A group of 17 eminent persons assembled from Africa will discuss policy priorities for the continent’s post Coronavirus recovery.

The group, Transformation Leadership Panel (TLP), an initiative of the Africa Center for Economic Transformation (ACET), will meet on Wednesday, May 27, 2020 to review COVID-19 interventions in Africa, share lessons from their own institutions and consider new avenues for more collaborative action in support of Africa’s governments.

A statement released signed by Belinda Ayamgha, Communications Coordinator for ACET said the 17 eminent persons, who are coming from the public, private, academia and charitable sectors in Africa and beyond, will be chaired by former President of Liberia, H. E. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf.

At the last meeting of the TLP in February 2020 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the panel committed to charting a coordinated path to addressing Africa’s urgent economic challenges and this third meeting will be an opportunity for panelists to do just that.

World Bank Chief Economist for Africa, Albert Zeufack, will join the meeting and lead a discussion on mechanisms for achieving policy reform goals.

The discussion will be guided in part by a recently published ACET paper, titled: “Ten Policy Priorities for Africa’s Recovery, Growth, and Transformation.”

The paper offers a different perspective from most other COVID-19 analysis to date in that its recommendations focus on actions for the longer term that should be taken regardless of the pandemic. The suggestions are now more important than ever for economies that will be struggling for recovery.

Among topics to be discussed include government effectiveness, resource mobilization and management, business and investment, and digital innovation and entrepreneurship.

“In my view, the COVID-19 crisis provides a real opportunity to collaborate around that mandate and demonstrate the full potential of the TLP,” Dr. K.Y. Amoako, Founder and President of ACET and member of the TLP said in a statement released here.

The members of the TLP are Acha Leke, McKinsey and Company’s Africa Region Chair; Ann Cotton, OBE, Founder and Trustee of CAMFED International; Agnes Kalibata, President, AGRA; Bineta Diop, Africa Union Special Envoy on Women, Peace and Security; Charles Boamah, Senior Vice President of the African Development Bank; Dolika Banda, CEO of African Risk Capacity; Gayle Smith, President and CEO of the ONE Campaign; and Hafez Ghanem, World Bank Vice President for Africa.

The other members of the panel are Ibrahim Hassane Mayaki, former prime minister of Niger & CEO, AUDA-NEPAD; James Mwangi, Managing Director & CEO of Equity Group Holdings; Masood Ahmed, President of the Center for Global Development; Ndidi Nwuneli, Co-founder and Managing Partner, Sahel Capital; Reeta Roy, President & CEO of the Mastercard Foundation; Stefano Manservisi, former Director-General, DEVCO, European Commission and Vera Songwe, Executive Secretary of the UN Economic Commission for Africa.

By Francis Tandoh || ghananewsonline.com.gh 

GOT A STORY? Share with us. Email: [email protected] or [email protected] WhatsApp: +233(0)244822034

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

GOT A STORY? Share with us. Email: [email protected] or [email protected] WhatsApp: +233(0)244822034
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More